Sunday, July 1, 2012

Zhejiang Provincial Museum, Hangzhou

Click here to go to the Wuzhou Celadon Jar

Click here to go to the "X-ray Pig"

Established in 1929, Zhejiang Provincial Museum (formerly known as the West Lake Museum of Zhejiang Province) is a comprehensive museum devoted to humanity studies integrating collection, exhibition and research with its over 100,000 collected cultural relics.

Among them, there are many world-famous exemplars, including pottery wares, lacquer wares, wooden pieces, bone tools and ivory objects of pre-historic Hemudu Culture, jade and silk fabrics of pre-historic Liangzhu Culture, bronze wares of the ancient Yue State, celadon wares of the Yue Kiln, Longquan Kiln and the Southern Song Imperial Kiln, copper mirrors of ancient Guiji and Huzhou, works of calligraphers and painters of Zhejiang Province in the Ming and Qing Dynasties.

 At present, the Museum features some principal exhibitions, e.g. “Seven Thousand Years of Zhejiang  – Exhibition on Zhejiang’s Historic and Cultural Relics”, “The Best of Celadon” and “Exhibition on Folk Customs of Ancient Yue Families”. With rich and colorful cultural relics throughout history and unique display methods, these exhibitions reflect the long and enduring history of Zhejiang Province in various layers and from diversified angles. 

The Zhejiang Provincial Museum irregularly holds about 40 exhibitions from home and abroad every year.

Within the museum there is the Hangzhou Cultural Relics Protection & Scientific Research Base. The Base is financed by the People’s Government of Zhejiang Province, completed in May 2004 and is now a cultural relics protection & scientific research base in the service of the whole cultural and museum system of Zhejiang Province. The Base aims at providing solutions to the existing problems in the cultural relics protection and research in the museums of Zhejiang Province, spreading basic cultural relics protection techniques to the Province and key technical services to the whole country, with the support from Zhejiang Provincial Museum.

No comments: